Health

Max Outs!

July 21, 2017

As of late I’ve been hitting the weights pretty hard. In an attempt to recover from back surgery and look good for my Hawaii vacation, I have been working out almost every day. On some days, I complete two workouts – one from the current program I’m doing and another 30 minute, high-intensity interval workout. Today, the program called for max outs. I haven’t maxed out on a lift in about four years and the best comparisons I have are those numbers. I definitely don’t feel as powerful as I did in high school or my early college years, but I know my form has gotten substantially better. So after completing my exhausting day of max outs, here are the numbers I put up:

375 lb Deadlift (Previous Max: 345 lb)

315 lb Squat (Previous Max: 325 lb)

245 lb Bench (Previous Max: 250 lb)

You would think the one area of my body that would be weaker would be my lower back. However, my deadlift was better than it ever had been – with good form too! The hardest thing about it was grip (primarily because I did four sets of clean and jerk the day prior). Going from deadlifts to squats was tough, but I managed to put up more than the 300 pounds I predicted. I completed five sets of each lift (5 x 5, 2, 1, 1, 1). On squats, I increased the weight by 15 pounds every time. On deadlift, the increase was slightly greater from the set of five to the set of two (275 to 315). I walked out of the gym today with no pain in my back and was pleasantly surprised with the numbers. Bench was more difficult. I came into this max-out day having done bench the day prior (along with clean and jerk, tricep and back exercises). In the morning, I also completed a six-round Tabata of back, shoulder, and tricep exercises. So needless to say my upper body was pretty exhausted. But hey, I’ll sit in the 900 lb Club for now. I’m hoping to turn that 935 lb combination into 1000 lb by the end of the next three-week cycle. I’ll keep you posted!

If you would like a copy of the current program I am doing, you can find it here. If you would like some high-intensity exercises like the one listed below, shoot me a message. I am more than happy to share a few that I have come up with through my years of training.

Sandbag/Dumbbell Workout (50lb):

Complete Six Rounds of Five Exercises. 30 Seconds Each. One minute break between rounds. Time: Roughly 30 minutes total.

  1. Sandbag Front Squat
  2. Sandbag Push-Ups (hands on bag)
  3. Sandbag Twisting Lunges (keep chest high, hold bag at the knees)
  4. Renegade Rows (50lb DBs)
  5. Leg Lifts

Nick

Leave a Reply

