What’s in this City?

Ey yo! Nick again. My 27th year spent blogging is off to a bad start. I started writing like three things this month and couldn’t close any of them, so I figured I would try something when I have nothing to write about and provide some insight to the many different cities around the country. I’ll cover about 2-4 cities and talk about what I like, dislike, or think you should do when you visit. Since I’m a self-acclaimed fattie, I’ll most likely talk about food, so be prepared! We’ll start with the big dog closest to home.

My only disclaimer: Don’t be a picky eater. Great food lies everywhere. Respond with some of your favorites, because I want to hear about them! I’m in Portland as I finish this post up (about to hit up two happy hours at The Original and Portland City Bar & Grill. And I’ve got great layovers in Austin, Nashville, and Vegas coming up – all fantastic places to chow down on some grub.

Chicago

As you all probably know, Chicago is close to home. After frolicking about other big cities, I’m pleased to say Chicago is THEE best when it comes to food. It’s also my favorite city to cruise through at night (along lake shore drive heading south when you cross the river is the most amazing city view there is). The Lincoln Park Zoo, Shedd Aquarium, Navy Pier, and countless amount of summer activities help give Chicago a Big-City Title over NY and LA in my book. So if you’re headed to Chicago anytime soon, here are some of the things worth checking out.

Comedy: If you ain’t never peed your pants laughing before, then you need to make your way to a comedy club in Chicago. I’ve seen a number of Improv shows at theaters I can’t even remember the names of, but with greats such as Steve Carell, Dan Aykroyd, John Candy, TJ Miller, Amy Poehler, the Belushi brothers, Tina Fey, and probably many others, Chicago is home to some of the best comedy. From iO Theater to Second City, all the way over to Comedy Sportz or Laugh out Loud Theater, there is literally a show you can catch every day of the week.

Flo & Santos: Pizza and Perogi! After visiting my current roommates on a monthly basis while they spent a year in South Loop, I feel in love with this Polish establishment. That’s saying a lot since most of the Polish women I have met in my life have turned me against all things Warsaw, but Flo redeems them for their bad qualities. For a Polish joint, this place has some of the best pizza. I suppose it’s technically Polish/Italian fusion, but regardless you can’t miss out on the pizza on Wabash and 13th.

Purple Pig: Quite possibly the greatest restaurant in existence. With plates that leave your taste buds wanting more and your facial expression in awe. Forever recommending the raw calamari and roasted beets. I’ve sat next to many people at this community seated installation of pure cuisine magic and I must say that every human is impressed by the fare.

Pizza: Literally, anywhere you go in Chicago you will find some great pizza. The Art of Pizza and Village Pizza (out in the far west burbs) are two of my all-time favorites. Flo & Santos, as previously mentioned, makes a hell of a pie and Lou’s, Giordano’s, and Pizzaria Uno are all staples. Since I say deep dish is always best, here’s a list of places I need to try, so you should too: PIZZA PIZZA PIZZA.

BONUS for Sorority Girls and Materialistic Folk: Hampton Social

If I could go back and open up a restaurant with a “Rosé All Day” sign, I’d do it in a heartbeat. I couldn’t count how many women have this iconic Instagram photo on their feed, but I’d be safe guessing it’s half the population of 22-27 year old former-sorority members. If you need the picture, take it. If you’re going for the food, it’s Chicago: the food is honestly pretty good.

Honorable Mention Places: Hopsmith (fun bar in Old Town for Big Ten Football), Therapy (fun bar in River North for Hawkeye Football), Three Dots and a Dash (the Vegas original is substantially better though).


So yes… those are a few of my favorite places. Chicago is such a fun city when the weather permits (and the best for food, as stated earlier). Skip the fast food and enjoy your local restaurants, and please, tell me your favorite spots so I can check them out. Adios!

Published by lifeafterlopez

Nick classifies himself as a 31 year old guy who enjoys the little things. He is currently suffering from a remarkable indecisive thought process, a can-do attitude, and uncertainty with what he wants to become. Passions include fitness, nutrition, story-telling, traveling, and finding happiness.

Leave a comment